Their victory 

My former student insta-messaged me

“We won poetry slam!”

To which, I replied..
” (Congratulations), It’s a great reminder kan. To always be patient- not to put a facade and hide emotions. But to reflect upon our actions and find solutions. Solutions could be in many forms- be humble and dua for example”



I was elated. I knew A had gone through major setback when he lost his spot for public speaking to another candidate. He was lucky that the teacher in charge decided  to pair him with M, to form DUO for poetry slam.

Trust me, rejection is not a small issue. It was one way to tell people 

“No matter what you do, You are not good enough”

It haunted me. 

But as I said, it is harsh reminder to tell yourself 

“You can do even better next time!”

Leave a Reply

